Getty Images
# more fit
Jan 20, 2017

HIIT Cardio: break out the six pack

Busy schedules combined with the desire for instant results, has placed High-Intensity Interval Training or HIIT, in the top 3 spots of the American College of Sports Medicine’s Worldwide Survey of Fitness Trends since 2014. If you haven’t gotten on board yet here’s how to start.

Make your workouts more powerful

HIIT alternates short bursts of intense exercise like sprinting, jumping jacks and pushups with short rest periods and moderate to low intensity exercises like jogging or walking. Most HIIT workouts can be done in 30 minutes - some even requiring less than 10 minutes of your time.

This type of training is mainly reserved for people who already have a high fitness level, like athletes, but so long as the person is in good health, nearly anyone can do HIIT. It’s just important to take it slow with one workout per week and then increasing it to three to four times after that. Sure, you want to be shredded, but we doubt you’d like to wind up in crutches!

The key to being a master at HIIT is to give the exercises 110%+ of your effort and to ensure you have proper technique when you perform them. HIIT can be done alone or added to your physical activity of choice, like running, biking, and tennis. Equipment isn’t needed, but kettlebells, dumbbells, and even jump ropes can take your workout to the next level – the choice is totally yours. When HIIT is practiced on a regular basis your metabolism with improve, as well as both energy systems (anaerobic and aerobic).

Tips to HIIT the right way

Pump up your playlists: Music that motivates is important for HIIT workouts – it helps you push yourself and perform better. Before heading out to your first HIIT session, check some playlists out on Spotify or update your own with music that ignites your inner fire.

Amp up your apps: One very important application to add to your phone is a timer for your workouts like Caynax HIIT. It’s a free high intensity interval training timer that will act like your ‘coach’ to let you know when it’s time to switch to the next exercise. Consider downloading apps that also include workouts if you need some ideas on how to get started or how to change up your normal routine.

Insta(nt) Inspiration: Over a million tags exist on Instagram under #hiit. People post photos and videos of their workouts and progress daily. We guarantee the below videos will want you to start HIIT today:

DAY CONTROL BODY - SHOWER DEODORANT DAY CONTROL BODY - SHOWER DEODORANT
Refreshing shower gel 24h deodorant effect
$ 29.00
4X ACTION ANTI-PERSPIRANT SPRAY 4X ACTION ANTI-PERSPIRANT SPRAY
Day Control deodorant
$ 26.00
AQUAPOWER Fresh Water-Gel AQUAPOWER Fresh Water-Gel
Moisturizes and cools
$ 39.00
January 20, 2017

@
# more fit
2017-01-20

EIHI : bonjour, abdominaux de fer

Nos horaires chargés et notre désir d’avoir des résultats instantanés ont contribué à la popularité de l’entraînement par intervalles à haute intensité (abrévié EIHI). Il s’est d’ailleurs classé en troisième position d’un sondage sur les tendances d’entraînement par le American College of Sports Medicine en 2014. Si vous n’êtes pas déjà fan, voici comment commencer.

Entraînements plus efficaces

L’EIHI alterne de courtes périodes d’exercice intense comme le sprint, les jumping jacks et les push-ups, et des périodes d’exercice à intensité modérée ou faible comme le jogging et la marche. Les séances d’EIHI durent rarement plus de 30 minutes – certaines ne prenant qu’une dizaine de minutes.

Ce type d’entraînement est populaire chez les athlètes, mais n’importe qui en bonne santé peut s’y adonner. Il faut toutefois commencer doucement avec un entraînement par semaine, puis il est possible d’augmenter à deux, puis quatre. Ne soyez pas impatient, on veut tous des abdominaux bien définis, mais ça ne vaut pas la peine de finir en béquilles !

La clé pour devenir un maître de l’EIHI est de donner votre 110 % et de vous assurer d’avoir la bonne technique. L’EIHI peut être fait seul ou jumelé avec une activité de votre choix comme la course, le vélo et le tennis. Pas nécessaire d’avoir un équipement, mais des haltères ou une corde à danser peuvent rendre votre entraînement encore plus intense. Pratiquer l’EIHI régulièrement accélèrera votre métabolisme et améliorera vos systèmes d’énergie (anaérobique et aérobique).

Nos trucs pour un bon EIHI

Une super playlist dans vos oreilles : De la musique vous motivera pour l’entraînement et vous aidera à repousser vos limites. Jetez un coup d’œil aux playlists existantes sur Spotify ou faites la vôtre avec vos chansons favorites.

Choisir la bonne application : L’application dont vous avez absolument besoin pour l’EIHI est un chronomètre gratuit, comme Caynax HITT, qui vous sert d’entraîneur et vous dit quand changer d’exercice. Vous pouvez aussi télécharger des applications qui proposent des entraînements différents pour vous inspirer au début ou pour changer la routine après un moment.

Inspiration (Insta)ntanée : Le mot-clic #HITT (EIHI, en anglais) compte plus d’un million de photos et vidéos de gens qui partagent leurs entraînements et leurs progrès. Gageons d’ailleurs que ces deux vidéos vous donneront envie de commencer l’EIHI aujourd’hui :

DAY CONTROL BODY - GEL DOUCHE DÉODORANT DAY CONTROL BODY - GEL DOUCHE DÉODORANT
Gel douche rafraîchissant - effet 24h
29,00 $
4X ACTION ANTI-PERSPIRANT SPRAY 4X ACTION ANTI-PERSPIRANT SPRAY
Day control - anti transpirant en aérosol
26,00 $
janvier 20, 2017