Getty Images
# more health
Feb 7, 2017

The 5 amazing benefits of kiwifruit for skin and health

Are you making kiwis a regular part of your diet?

Big things come in small packages. The kiwifruit is a tiny powerhouse packed full of vitamins and nutrients – it not only helps you feel healthier, but can also amp up your beauty game.

A superfood of goodness

The kiwifruit, also known as the Chinese Gooseberry has a low GI Index. If eaten on a regular basis it can:

Balance pH levels: Our daily lives – especially if we live in a city – can create a lot of acidity in our bodies. Pollution, poor diet and stress are all culprits for an unbalanced pH. If ignored, inflammation and fatigue levels can increase in our bodies, leaving us more susceptible to falling ill and developing skin problems. So what’s the best way to fight back? By eating kiwis, which are known to be an ‘alkaline’ food - they help the body flush out toxins. If eaten on a regular basis pH levels will become balanced again.

Aid in digestion: Next time you want something sweet after dessert, reach for a kiwi. It’s a great source of fiber and the enzymes in the fruit help break down your food better, so you’ll digest it faster.

Lower blood pressure: Kiwis are high in potassium, which balances electrolytes and regulates blood pressure – it’s also a great source of lutein, an antioxidant that fights free radicals. It’s a winning combination for your body and skin which keeps things under control!

Help you sleep better: You can improve the quality of your sleep by eating two kiwis each night 1 hour before bedtime. They’re high in serotonin and according to a study they can help you stay asleep longer by lowering stress and anxiety levels. And we all know what a good night’s sleep can do for your skin!

Give you gorgeous glowing skin: Kiwis are supercharged in Vitamin C - 273% of the recommended daily amount which is even higher than oranges! Vitamin C not only strengthens the immune system, but also helps the body produce collagen and keep skin soft and smooth (goodbye wrinkles!). This fruit is also high in Vitamin E, which fights free radicals.

How to get your daily kiwi fix

Kiwis are yummy on their own, but they can be paired with lots of different foods and eaten at every meal:

For breakfast: Add some kiwi slices to cereal or yogurt for an extra special treat.

For lunch: Toss some sliced kiwis into a green salad with avocados and vinaigrette.

For dinner: Make a kiwi mango salsa and use it on top of chicken, salmon or shrimp – you’ll be glad you did!

The kiwi’s such an extraordinary fruit – maybe the new expression should be ‘’a kiwi a day will keep the doctor away’’!

February 07, 2017

Getty Images
# more health
2017-02-07

Les 5 bénéfices des kiwis pour votre peau et votre santé

Mangez-vous assez de kiwis ?

Dans les petits pots, les meilleurs onguents. Le kiwi a beau être petit, il est rempli de vitamines et nutriments qui sont bons pour la santé et votre apparence.

Un super-aliment

Le kiwi a un index glycémique bas. Si vous en mangez régulièrement, il peut :

Balancer votre pH : La pollution, une mauvaise alimentation et le stress sont des éléments qui déséquilibrent votre pH en rendant votre corps trop acide. L’inflammation et la fatigue peuvent alors augmenter, vous laissant plus susceptible aux maladies et problèmes de peau. En mangeant des kiwis, qui sont un aliment alcalin, vous aiderez votre corps à se débarrasser des toxines. Continuez d’en manger régulièrement, pour que votre pH revienne à la normale.

Aider à la digestion : La prochaine fois que vous aurez envie d’un dessert sucré, mangez un kiwi. C’est une excellente source de fibres et ses enzymes permettent de digérer la nourriture plus facilement.

Baisser votre pression : Les kiwis contiennent beaucoup de potassium, qui équilibre les électrolytes et régule la pression sanguine. Ils sont aussi une excellente source de lutéine, un antioxydant qui combat les radicaux libres. C’est une combinaison gagnante à la fois pour votre corps et votre peau !

Aider à mieux dormir : Vous pouvez améliorer la qualité de votre sommeil en mangeant deux kiwis, une heure avant d’aller au lit. Ils contiennent de la sérotonine, qui vous gardera endormi en baissant votre niveau de stress. Et on sait à quel point une bonne nuit de sommeil est importante pour avoir une belle peau !

Donner une peau splendide : Les kiwis regorgent de vitamine C (273 % de la quantité quotidienne recommandée !). La vitamine C renforce le système immunitaire et aide le corps à produire du collagène, qui rendra votre peau douce et lisse (bye bye aux rides !). La vitamine E du kiwi est quant à elle excellente pour combattre les radicaux libres.

Comment manger ses kiwis

Les kiwis sont délicieux seuls, mais vous pouvez aussi les déguster de plusieurs manières différentes :

Au déjeuner : Ajoutez des tranches de kiwis à des céréales ou du yogourt.

Au dîner : Incorporez des kiwis dans une salade avec de l’avocat et une vinaigrette.

Au souper : Préparez une salsa de mangue et kiwi pour votre poulet, votre saumon ou vos crevettes.Le kiwi est un fruit impressionnant… Peut-être que l’expression devrait être « Un kiwi par jour éloigne le médecin pour toujours » ?

février 07, 2017