© Cyril Masson / Studio White
# more fit
Feb 4, 2017

Jumping rope can make you a happier person

Discover how you can get a full body workout with just a jump rope – you’ll never see this gym accessory in the same way again.

Jumping rope isn’t just a fun childhood recess game anymore. It’s making a major comeback, and in a very grown-up way: people all around the world are adding it to their workouts and it’s even recognized as a competitive sport now – what those people can do is impressive! However you don’t need to be a pro to get started with jump roping. A little motivation, some great music, and our tips and tricks will get you jumping into a new kind of workout in no time.

Make the daily grind more fun

Your alarm goes off at 6 am. A glass of warm lemon water is gulped down at 6:10. You’re out the door by 6:20 for your 6:30 gym session and then after a quick shower you head to work. It’s great to have a regular exercise schedule, but when it starts to become monotonous and you feel like you’re just ‘’going through the motions’’ it’s probably time to change things up. Enter: jump rope training.

Jumping rope is a very invigorating aerobic activity and anyone in good health can do it, so long as they pace themselves correctly – however, if you have any knee problems it’s best to check with your doctor first. It releases endorphins, can make you feel like a little kid again and will make you laugh when you misstep and find the cord around your ankles – we know it’s hard to admit, but those days when you were a Double Dutch master are unfortunately over!

How to add jump roping to your workout

If you’ve been slacking recently and you haven’t been getting to the gym as often as you know you should then take things slow at first, only doing 5 to 10 minutes at a time. However if you work out often, you can turn jump roping into a 15-minute HIIT workout - just make sure to keep the intensity level high and continuously challenge yourself (adding planks is great).

Jumping rope can burn around 10 calories a minute if you maintain a moderate speed. It’s a good idea to do 30-second to 1-minute bursts and then take 10-15 seconds between each round to catch your breath. Start out by jumping rope normally and then add in some high knee rises, side shuffles to work the obliques and then a few double unders like you can see in the video below. Some of the moves might take some time to learn, but once you get the hang of them your hand-eye coordination will be on point!

Jumping rope can be done anywhere, making it a fun mobile sport that will help you get a full body workout in, no matter where you are.

And if you’d like to see what you achieve with a jump rope one day (well okay after a lot of practice!) check out the video below. That girl is talented!

February 04, 2017

© Cyril Masson / Studio White
# more fit
2017-02-04

La corde à danser peut vous rendre plus heureux

Découvrez comment faire un entraînement complet avec une corde à danser – vous ne verrez plus jamais cet accessoire de sport de la même façon.

La corde à danser n’est pas que pour les enfants à la récréation. Elle fait un retour sur la scène, chez les adultes : partout dans le monde, les gens utilisent la corde à danser pour s’entraîner et elle est même reconnue comme un sport. Mais pas besoin d’être un pro pour se lancer. Un peu de motivation, de la bonne musique et nos trucs vous aideront à bondir vers ce nouvel entraînement.

Rendre la routine plus amusante

Votre alarme sonne à 6 h. Vous buvez un verre d’eau citronnée à 6 h 10. Vous sortez de la maison à 6 h 20 et êtes au gym à 6 h 30. Après votre entraînement, vous prenez une douche et vous dirigez vers le travail. Avoir une routine d’exercice est excellent, mais si ça commence à devenir monotone et que vous avez l’impression de répéter la même chose tous les jours, c’est le temps de faire des changements. On vous présente l’entraînement avec une corde à danser.

Sauter à la corde est une activité aérobique vivifiante et presque tout le monde peut la pratiquer (mais si vous avez des problèmes de genoux, il faudrait d’abord voir votre médecin). Les endorphines qui seront libérées vous feront sourire et vous donneront l’impression de retomber en enfance, quand vous sautiez dans la cour d’école.

Comment incorporer la corde à danser à votre entraînement

Si vous vous êtes relâché dernièrement et n’êtes pas allé au gym aussi souvent que vous le devriez, commencez doucement, de 5 à 10 minutes à la fois. Mais si vous êtes au top de votre forme, allez-y pour un 15 minutes en EIHI en vous assurant de garder l’intensité élevée et de donner votre 110 % (pourquoi ne pas aussi faire quelques planches ?).

Sauter à la corde peut brûler environ 10 calories par minute si vous maintenez un rythme modéré. Sautez avec intensité de 30 secondes à une minute, puis prenez une pause de 10-15 secondes avant de recommencer. Sauter normalement au départ, puis ajouter des genoux levés, des déplacements latéraux pour faire travailler vos obliques et des sauts doubles (comme dans la vidéo). Il vous faudra un certain temps pour apprendre tous ces mouvements, mais quand vous aurez réussi, c’est que votre coordination est devenue excellente.

Le saut à la corde est un entraînement complet, que vous pouvez faire partout.

Et si vous aimez vous fixer des objectifs, regardez ce que cette fille peut faire (on vous le concède, ça vous prendra des heures et des heures à sauter pour y arriver) :

février 04, 2017