Main content

At Biotherm, weโ€™re committed to increasing transparency on our products. To help our consumers make more sustainable choices.

Introducing the product impact labeling system

Biotherm is committed to improving our products' environmental and social profile and empowering consumers with the information they need to make more sustainable choices.

Thatโ€™s why weโ€™ve developed a new labeling system that provides complete and transparent feedback on our products' environmental and social impact in a clear and comparative way.

Our journey starts with a few categories: Daily face cleanser, Daily Face care, Face makeup remover, Essence & toner, Eye Care, Sun Care, Body Cleanser, and Body Moisturizer.

As we grow, more categories will be added in the future.

A clear score

Overall environmental impactโ€‹

Biotherm is committed to continually improving the impact of their products throughout the product lifecycle, including the production and usage phase, and gives you access to this data with full transparency.

The โ€œOverall Environmental Impactโ€   is the accumulative score of all the factors that can be attributed to the environmental impact of a product throughout its life cycle and presents it in a clear way for consumers to understand. The scoring system includes for example assessments during the production of ingredients, the production of packaging, the manufacture of the product, its use (including the quantity of hot water used during shower and formula biodegradability), and the waste management of packaging. 

What are scores A & B vs. C, D, and E? To receive a score of A, each product scoring must fall within the top 10% of the industry's category. B score is the next 25%. A & B categories are then the best 35% of the industry. Consequently, products falling in the C, D, and E scores are in the bottom 65%.

Understand Biotherm full cycle of product life
For cosmetics, the carbon footprint and the water footprint are the two main factors of impact when it comes to assessing a product's Environmental Impact. These factors represent two thirds, one average, of the overall impact of cosmetics products.

So you can easily compare products

Can't decide between two products? Use Product Impact Labelling to compare their impact!โ€‹

Each product is ranked in comparison to other products in the same category so that they can easily be compared.

VERIFIED BY EXPERTS

This environmental and social labeling methodology was developed with the help of 11 independent scientific experts and is aligned with the European "Environmental Product Footprint" standards that aim to reduce the environmental impact of goods and services with a multi-criteria approach. The PIL data is also verified by Bureau Veritas Certification, an independent auditor worldwide recognized.

Additional information

Additional information is available in the โ€˜Environmental and Social Impactโ€™ section of a productโ€™s description, where you can find details of the manufacturing conditions, the packaging, and the social contribution of a product. We also look at whether the raw materials have been sustainably and solidarity sourced.

GLOSSARY

Want to know more? Find below some useful definitions.

CARBON FOOTPRINT

The amount of greenhouse gas emissions (CO2) released throughout a productโ€™s life cycle, i.e. during the production of ingredients and packaging, the product manufacturing, its transportation, use by consumers, and the recycling of its packaging.

Did you know?

You can reduce your carbon footprint by refilling your product where available. In February 2021, we launched the Life Plankton Elixir Blue Fountain, a refillable skincare pilot in Spain. We hope to scale and build up this pilot in the next several years, offering a more sustainable luxury refill experience throughout the world.

WATER FOOTPRINT

Amount of water used throughout a productโ€™s life cycle, i.e. the water needed for the production of ingredients and packaging, the water needed to produce the products in the factory, the water consumed during use (e.g. shower), and the water needed to treat the wastewater.

Did you know?

Biothermโ€™s key ingredient Life Planktonโ„ข probiotic fraction is produced in a cutting-edge biotech facility in Tours, France, originally built in 1994 and progressively updated over the years.

It has used renewable energy since 2010 and green gas since 2018. 100% of the wastewater is recycled on-site and energy is made from the remaining solid waste.

RESPONSIBLE MANUFACTURING PLANT

A manufacturing plant that, year after year, reduces its greenhouse gas (CO2) emissions, water consumption, and waste generation, and that contributes to the development of local employment - especially for people in vulnerable economic situations - and access to training for its employees.

Did you know?

By 2025, Biotherm is committed to using 100% renewable energy in its manufacturing plants.

CERTIFIED PAPER/CARDBOARD FSCโ„ข or PEFC

The paper or cardboard used in the product packaging (leaflets or folding boxes) come from responsibly managed forests or other controlled sources that are respectful of the environment, biodiversity, and people. They are independently certified following the conditions defined by either the Forest Stewardship Councilโ„ข (FSCโ„ข) or the Program for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC).โ€‹

Did you know?

100% of our packaging and instruction leaflets come from sustainably managed and certified forests.

RECYCLED MATERIAL

Material produced using other recycled materials.

Did you know?

Today, 97.8% of Biothermโ€™s PET plastic bottles are made with recycled plastic, including our Biosource range and Waterlover Sun Milk. We are committed to supporting the use of more sustainable alternatives and we have a non-fossil approach to all new plastic packaging. By 2025, we aim to be 80% fossil-free in our overall plastic consumption.

RECYCLABLE

Components that can - where the infrastructure allows - be collected and treated by a special industrial process to give rise to new material. For more information, you can visit the Ellen MacArthur Foundation website.

Did you know?

By 2025, 100% of our plastic packaging will be reusable, recyclable or refillable by 2025.

Donโ€™t hesitate to use your favorite product in big size: the environmental impact will be more favorable, because a lesser quantity of packaging will be necessary in regard of the quantity of product used.

THE 4 PRINCIPLES OF THE UNITED NATIONS (UN) GLOBAL COMPACT ON LABOUR RIGHTS

All direct suppliers of Biothermโ€™s product components or ingredients are committed to respecting the fundamental principles of the UN on labor standards.

  • The right of workers to associate freely and engage in collective bargaining
  • No forced or compulsory labor
  • No child labor
  • No discrimination among workers

Did you know?

Since 2006, the L'Orรฉal Group has carried out more than 10,800 on-site social audits conducted by accredited third parties.

SUPPLIERS COMMITTED TO SOCIAL INCLUSION

Ingredient and packaging suppliers that provide access to work and a decent wage to people in socially and/or economically vulnerable communities. These suppliers support at least one Solidarity Project.

Did you know?

In 2019, the Lโ€™Orรฉal Groupโ€™s Solidarity Sourcing Program enabled 70 912 people from underprivileged communities to gain access to a job and a decent wage.

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device

Main content

CHEZ BIOTHERM, NOUS NOUS ENGAGEONS À ACCROÎTRE LA TRANSPARENCE SUR NOS PRODUITS. POUR AIDER NOS CONSOMMATEURS À FAIRE DES CHOIX PLUS DURABLES.

PRÉSENTATION DU SYSTÈME D'ÉTIQUETAGE D'IMPACT SUR LES PRODUITS

Biotherm s'engage à améliorer le profil environnemental et social de ses produits et à fournir aux consommateurs les informations dont ils ont besoin pour faire des choix plus durables.

C'est pourquoi nous avons développé un nouveau système d'étiquetage qui fournit de manière complète et transparente l'impact environnemental et social de nos produits, de manière claire et comparative.

Notre voyage commence par quelques catégories : nettoyant quotidien pour le visage, soin quotidien pour le visage, démaquillant pour le visage, essence et toner, soin des yeux, soin solaire, nettoyant pour le corps et hydratant pour le corps.

Au fur et à mesure de notre croissance, d'autres catégories seront ajoutées à l'avenir.

UN SCORE CLAIR

IMPACT ENVIRONNEMENTAL GLOBAL​​

Biotherm s'engage à améliorer continuellement l'impact de ses produits tout au long de leur cycle de vie, y compris la phase de production et d'utilisation, et vous donne accès à ces données en toute transparence.

L'« Impact environnemental global » est le score cumulé de tous les facteurs pouvant être attribués à l'impact environnemental d'un produit tout au long de son cycle de vie et le présente de manière claire pour que les consommateurs puissent le comprendre. Le système de notation comprend par exemple des évaluations lors de la production d'ingrédients, la production d'emballages, la fabrication du produit, son utilisation (y compris la quantité d'eau chaude utilisée pendant la douche et la biodégradabilité de la formule) et la gestion des déchets d'emballages.

Quels signifient les scores A et B par rapport à C, D et E ? Pour recevoir une note de A, chaque produit doit appartenir aux meilleurs 10% de la catégorie de l'industrie. Le score B correspond aux 25% suivants. Les produits notés A & B sont alors les 35% meilleurs de l'industrie. Par conséquent, les produits classés dans les scores C, D et E se situent dans les 65 % inférieurs.

Comprendre le cycle de vie complet du produit Biotherm
Pour les cosmétiques, l'empreinte carbone et l'empreinte eau sont les deux principaux facteurs d'impact lorsqu'il s'agit d'évaluer l'Impact Environnemental d'un produit. Ces facteurs représentent les deux tiers, en moyenne, de l'impact global des produits cosmétiques.

AINSI, VOUS POUVEZ FACILEMENT COMPARER LES PRODUITS

Vous n'arrivez pas à choisir entre deux produits ? Utilisez Product Impact Labelling pour comparer leur impact !

Chaque produit est classé par rapport aux autres produits de la même catégorie afin qu'ils puissent être facilement comparés.

VÉRIFIÉ PAR DES EXPERTS

Cette méthodologie d'affichage environnemental et social a été élaborée avec l'aide de 11 experts scientifiques indépendants et est alignée sur les normes européennes "Environmental Product Footprint" qui visent à réduire l'impact environnemental des biens et services avec une approche multicritères. Les données PIL sont également vérifiées par Bureau Veritas Certification, un auditeur indépendant mondialement reconnu.

INFORMATIONS COMPLÉMENTAIRES

Des informations complémentaires sont disponibles dans la rubrique ‘Impact Environnemental et Social’ de la description d’un produit, où vous pourrez trouver des détails sur les conditions de fabrication, l’emballage et la contribution sociale d’un produit. Nous regardons également si les matières premières ont été sourcées de manière durable et solidaire.

GLOSSAIRE

Vous voulez en savoir plus? Retrouvez ci-dessous quelques définitions utiles.

EMPREINTE CARBONE

La quantité d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre (CO2) émises tout au long du cycle de vie d'un produit, c'est-à-dire pendant la production des ingrédients et des emballages, la fabrication du produit, son transport, son utilisation par les consommateurs et le recyclage de son emballage.

Le saviez-vous ?

Vous pouvez réduire votre empreinte carbone en rechargeant votre produit lorsqu'il est disponible. En février 2021, nous avons lancé la Life Plankton Elixir Blue Fountain, un pilote de soin de la peau rechargeable en Espagne. Nous espérons faire évoluer et développer ce projet pilote au cours des prochaines années, offrant une expérience de recharge de luxe plus durable dans le monde entier.

EMPREINTE EAU

Quantité d'eau utilisée tout au long du cycle de vie d'un produit, c'est-à-dire l'eau nécessaire à la production des ingrédients et des emballages, l'eau nécessaire à la fabrication des produits en usine, l'eau consommée pendant l'utilisation (par exemple, la douche) et l'eau nécessaire pour traiter les eaux usées.

Le saviez-vous ?

L'ingrédient clé de Biotherm, la fraction probiotique Life Plankton™, est produit dans une installation biotechnologique de pointe à Tours, en France, construite à l'origine en 1994 et progressivement mise à jour au fil des ans.

Il utilise des énergies renouvelables depuis 2010 et du gaz vert depuis 2018. 100 % des eaux usées sont recyclées sur place et l'énergie est produite à partir des déchets solides restants.

USINE DE FABRICATION RESPONSABLE

Une usine de fabrication qui, année après année, réduit ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre (CO2), sa consommation d'eau, sa production de déchets, et qui contribue au développement de l'emploi local - notamment pour les personnes en situation économique précaire - et à l'accès à la formation pour ses employés.

Le saviez-vous ?

D'ici 2025, Biotherm s'engage à utiliser 100 % d'énergie renouvelable dans ses usines de fabrication.

PAPIER/CARTON CERTIFIÉ FSC™ OU PEFC

Le papier ou le carton utilisé dans les emballages des produits (prospectus ou étuis pliants) provient de forêts gérées de manière responsable ou d'autres sources contrôlées et respectueuses de l'environnement, de la biodiversité et des personnes. Ils sont certifiés de manière indépendante selon les conditions définies par le Forest Stewardship Council™ (FSC™) ou le Programme de reconnaissance des certifications forestières (PEFC).

Le saviez-vous ?

100 % de nos emballages et notices sont issus de forêts gérées durablement et certifiées.

MATÉRIAU RECYCLÉ

Matériau produit à partir d'autres matériaux recyclés.

Le saviez-vous ?

Aujourd'hui, 97,8 % des bouteilles en plastique PET de Biotherm sont fabriquées avec du plastique recyclé, y compris notre gamme Biosource et Waterlover Sun Milk. Nous nous engageons à soutenir l'utilisation d'alternatives plus durables et nous avons une approche non fossile pour tous les nouveaux emballages en plastique. D'ici 2025, nous visons à être à 80 % sans énergie fossile dans notre consommation globale de plastique.

RECYCLABLE

Composants qui peuvent - là où l'infrastructure le permet - être collectés et traités par un procédé industriel spécial pour donner naissance à un nouveau matériau. Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez visiter le site Web de la Fondation Ellen MacArthur.

Le saviez-vous ?

D'ici 2025, 100 % de nos emballages en plastique seront réutilisables, recyclables ou rechargeables d'ici 2025.

N'hésitez pas à utiliser votre produit préféré en grand format : l'impact environnemental sera plus favorable, car une quantité moindre d'emballage sera nécessaire au regard de la quantité de produit utilisée.

LES 4 PRINCIPES DU PACTE MONDIAL DES NATIONS UNIES (ONU) SUR LES DROITS DU TRAVAIL

Tous les fournisseurs directs des composants ou ingrédients des produits Biotherm s'engagent à respecter les principes fondamentaux de l'ONU sur les normes du travail.

  • Le droit des travailleurs de s'associer librement et de négocier collectivement
  • Pas de travail forcé ou obligatoire
  • Pas de travail des enfants
  • Aucune discrimination entre les travailleurs

Le saviez-vous ?

Depuis 2006, le Groupe L'Oréal a réalisé plus de 10 800 audits sociaux sur site menés par des tiers accrédités.​

FOURNISSEURS ENGAGÉS POUR L'INCLUSION SOCIALE

Fournisseurs d'ingrédients et d'emballages qui donnent accès au travail et à un salaire décent aux personnes issues de communautés socialement et/ou économiquement vulnérables. Ces fournisseurs soutiennent au moins un Projet Solidaire.

Le saviez-vous ?

En 2019, le Programme Sourcing Solidaire du Groupe L'Oréal a permis à 70 912 personnes issues de milieux défavorisés d'accéder à un emploi et à un salaire décent.

Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device